Prayers, Wishes, and Hopes for California

As many of you know, California is suffering the worst drought in it’s history. As of today, it has a woeful 13% of it’s average rainfall this season. This tragedy is following last years terrible drought. When I checked the weather last Friday, they were predicting sunshine forever. I read five or six stories about it; they said it was “the  worst drought in 500 years.”  “No relief in sight.” “May not rain again until next year.”

The thought of that terrified me.

I live in the Sierra Nevada Mountains, and I love this dear and beautiful place. I have often said that I’m lucky to have a little home just outside of Heaven, where the deer visit daily, where the brave bluejays hop up to arm’s reach to collect a treat, where a little mama squirrel shows up on my deck and taps on the glass door. When she gets my attention she then gestures with sign language for me to come outside and bring some peanuts to share. I have come to know the forest inhabitants and love them as dearly as my own family. That is why the thought of this tragic drought terrifies me. I know that it could kill tens of millions of oak trees and all the food they provide for the  animals of the Sierra. It could kill the redwoods and other conifers that cover this rugged terrain and give it a natural living beauty. 

Science professors have said a power high pressure ridge of warm air is blocking the storms from reaching California. They have asked our great Governor Brown to declare a state of emergency. He has suggested that he will (hopefully soon). He also pointed out that governors can’t fix droughts. True, very true…but governors (like all politicians) are gifted speakers, so I suggest that our dear governor stand before the camera and ask the people of the world to say a prayer, make a wish, or offer hope for California. Pray, wish or hope the rains return to the Sierra. Regardless of religion or politics, California grows and offers food for the world. Pray, wish or hope that precious blessing of life continues.

Last night on Twitter, I asked my friend Alex in Paris to pray for the Sierra. He replied most sincerely and said he would. He had lived for a while in California and loved the natural beauty of the state. So today when I opened my drapes, I expected to see more of the endless sunshine and was surprised to see a cloud cover. I went to my computer and checked the weather, SURPRISE! we are now expecting rain on Wednesday. The first thought that went through my mind was: “Way to go, Alex! If I knew he could do that I would have begged weeks ago for help.” Then I thought, “Hmmm…probably because the French love and pray for rain more than anyone.” That is when I thought it would be a great idea if our Governor Brown asked the world (and especially France) to pray, wish and hope for rain for California.

Please help us! If we don’t get more rain then 2014 could be the most tragic year for the crops and all the precious wildlife in California. Our thoughts and feelings transmit energy; perhaps, if enough people devote a little precious living energy in a prayer, a wish or just hope, it could possibly help weaken the high pressure ridge and allow the seasonal rains to return to my beloved Sierra.

PLEASE, pray, wish or hope for California and the Sierra.ImageImageImageImage

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Prayers, Wishes, and Hopes for California

  1. Prayer is powerful, Susan. I shall pray as well.

  2. Thank you, Gerri. Although there are many people who put little value in prayer. I believe that all people utilize the feeling of hope at some time in life. Hope springs from the heart like water magic and flows to join the stream of good wishes and river of prayers from all the good-hearted people of Earth. Thank you for your prayers for California and the Sierra.

  3. R.

    Thinking of you, Susan! Thank-you for sharing the photos of the beauty surrounding your lovely home. Truly, a little piece of heaven:)

    • The Sierra is truly beautiful like most places on Earth where life paints the landscape with living colors. Our forests are our most precious asset on this world, without them humanity will die in the desert. They attract the rain and cool the Earth, and provide food and shelter for most of the land animals. I pray we wake up and start growing and cultivating more forests. I fear sometimes that thousands of years from now, someone will translate a few words carved in a stone slab. “Here lies Humankind. They slaughtered their world then died shortly after….”

  4. Water Select® can help with the #CaliforniaDrought Watch video of a child using our new technology http://www.waterselect.com/how-it-works.html

Leave a Reply

